University of Maine System Board of Trustees

AGENDA ITEM SUMMARY

(Committee Action item within the Committee Purview)

NAME OF ITEM: Approval of Non-Voting, Non-Trustee Member – John Moore – 1st Term

INITIATED BY: Kelly A. Martin, Chair

BOARD INFORMATION:

BOARD ACTION: X

BOARD POLICY:

Section 709 - Investments

UNIFIED ACCREDITATION CONNECTION:

Supports central management and oversight of the University of Maine System's investments and the employee defined contribution plan.

BACKGROUND:

Trustee Martin, Chair of the Investment Committee, and Board of Trustees Chair Riley, recommend the appointment of John (Jack) Moore to a (returning) first term as a non-voting, non-trustee member of the Investment Committee.

We are excited to welcome Jack back to the committee after his valuable service in this capacity from 2009 to 2017. During his previous tenure, Jack's expertise in investment matters and his insightful questions played a crucial role in shaping discussions and decision-making. His continued dedication to the university is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to his ongoing contributions.

Jack is the Managing Partner and Chief Investment Officer at Harpswell Capital Advisors, LLC, with more than 25 years of finance experience, including over 20 years in institutional investing. As the firm's CIO and Strategist, Jack leads client relationships and directs efforts in manager selection and tactical positioning.

His extensive background includes managing Harpswell Capital Management, a hedge fund, and serving as a Principal at Vanguard Group. Additionally, Jack has held roles as Vice President and Portfolio Manager at Bryn Mawr Capital and as a fixed-income Analyst at MetLife. Jack holds a Bachelor of Arts from Hobart College and a Master of Science from the London School of Economics.

TEXT OF PROPOSED RESOLUTION:

That the Board of Trustees, acting through the Investment Committee, approves the appointment of John Moore to a three-year term as a non-voting, non-trustee member of the Investment Committee, effective March 6, 2025.